Reviews

Best Reception Ever! (And not just because it was my own wedding)

We book Zach through Secrets Papagayo for our destination wedding from 2 DJs they offered and we definitely made the right decision! Not one person at our wedding stayed seated for the dancing and he played all styles of music that we and our families liked! We had a mixed crowd of Brazilians and Americans and DJ Zach definitely was the spark to make our party fire!! We can't thank him enough!

Fernando/Brooke 9/28/19

 

Zach was an amazing DJ for my birthday party! Not only was he very responsive in assisting in planning our event, he was professional and easy to work with. I sent him a list of “must hear” songs before the party and not only did he play all of those, he also played every song we added during the event. I originally booked him for 3 hours and we were having such a great time, he accommodated us and played for an additional 4 hours. Zach was an awesome DJ and addition to our party. I would highly recommend him for your wedding or event in Costa Rica!

Andrea  8/16/19 

 

 

Lucky to have found this great DJ!!
We felt so lucky to have found DJ Guana! From the moment we first spoke, he was attentive and informative. He always responded to our emails or calls within a couple of hours. He was there to answer every question we had, even if it wasn't necessarily about his DJ services. He made us feel comfortable and excited. When it came to wedding day, he played every song we asked him to, plus a couple more he knew the crowd would love. There wasn't a time the dance floor wasn't packed! He kept our guests dancing until the very end. The energy was amazing. He was even able to play a New Mexican traditional song we requested that is very hard to find. We are so grateful for his services!

Mr. and Mrs. Serna 26/7/19

Exceeded all expectations

Zach was absolutely brilliant. From the moment we first reached out to him we were impressed. He was very easy going, very knowledgeable, organized, thorough and very good at his job. We couldn’t be happier. He was even able to cater towards our multi cultural wedding with impressive knowledge of multiple genres of music.

Hesi/Jamie 05/16/2019

Brian Kaufman , married on 07/13/2019

 

Straight Fire All Night on the One's and Two's

Zach seems to have life figured out. He's an American ex-pat who's made a life down in Costa Rica DJ'ing events. Secrets Papagayo identified him for us as an option for our reception and he did not disappoint. Zach took a laid back but responsive approach to providing music services for us. Up front, he sent us a ton of playlists he's played before for examples and allowed us flexibility to either request every song or do things his way. We weren't too hung up on the exact songlist so we picked a couple must play songs and must not play artists and then gave him some music genres we're into and let him do the rest. And he nailed every song. At the beginning, he introduced the wedding party confidently and accurately, and guided us in for our first dance without a hitch. He wasn't cheesy or fumbling at all, just nailed it. After dinner we jumped immediately into dancing for 2-ish hours and we didn't stop for a single song. He read the crowd perfectly. He has great equipment that was perfect, no technical difficulties at all. He took a bunch of pictures and videos of us for his Instagram and was professional. And then at the end of the night, he kindly wished us well and that was that. No drama, no failures, just straight bangers all night. If you're in Costa Rica and are looking for someone to just get things done, Zach is the man. Pura Vida!

Mr. and Mrs. Kaufman 

 

 

Zach was a fantastic addition to our wedding, needless to say it would not have been the same without him. He was literally the best DJ I've seen at a wedding and fortunately, it was at my wedding. Zach was easy to communicate with, has a great inventory and taste in music, knows how to read the crowd and had very competitive prices. I really cannot recommend him highly enough, I can guarantee that this will be one of the best decisions you make.

Mr. and Mrs. Hammond  6/30.12

 

Phenomenal 

Zach is by far the most tuned in wedding DJ. He just gets it! He understood our vibe and our dos and don’t for songs. He is great on the microphone and knows how to move a crowd. He brings so much life to the party!
Zach is a complete natural and Ive already recommended him to my friends. 
Thanks Zach!

Mr. and Mrs. Matteson 4/22/17

Amazing party, thanks DJ Zach! 

Zach was our wedding DJ, from cocktail hour until the end of the party. It was SO much fun! He played the music we asked for, accepted requests, read the group very well and overall made the night super enjoyable for everyone. He also served as MC and was good at it! 
He's very responsive, flexible and punctual. We even asked him to stay for an extra hour at the end because we were having so much fun! We highly recommend him. 
Thanks Zach!

Nadav and Andrea 6/23/19

Married on 06/09/2019

 5.0 View more

Best DJ ever!

Zach did an amazing job at our wedding! He played the perfect mix of music that appealed to everyone. He definitely was able to read the crowd and kept the party going. He also was super flexible and accommodating while we were dealing with rain at our beach wedding. He was very professional, nice, and easy to get in touch with. So glad we chose him for our wedding!

Mr. and Mrs. Wilson

Energetic and Versatile

Zach crushed it at our wedding.. his music is both modern, eclectic ranges across the decades - but he also can adjust to any atmosphere.. when we were tired, he picked us up, when we wanted to funk, he funked us out.. when we wanted some of the hits, he had them all.. Latin music? Nailed it.. Cant say enough about this guy - he is a no brainer when choosing a DJ for a wedding or private event. Cant recommend him enough. He was careful to listen to us and totally professional throughout the process. We even tipped him for staying a little longer to keep us on the dance floor. 5 stars !

Mr. and Mrs. Cooper 12/6/17

Wonderful DJ for FlorBlanca wedding

Zach was wonderful! Completely set the tone for our reception and understand what I was going for.

Mr. and Mrs. Carter 3/23/19

 

Wedding in Manuel Antonio

Zach is a great DJ that provided excellent communication with us and our wedding planner. It was easy and without any issue, especially for someone that we didn’t meet until the day of our wedding. He was able to play all the songs we wanted and, just as important, kept all the unwanted songs off the speakers. He made sure that everyone was having a good time and he was also able to make announcements for us during the reception. Great event pricing as well as personality. Thank you so much for performing at our wedding!

Carrao 5/11/19

The idea of creating a playlist for our wedding seemed overwhelming and something we had been putting off. However, with Zach, the process was not only simple but really fun. He was incredibly easy to communicate with and after a few conversations about our music likes and dislikes he created a playlist that made the dance floor and over-all energy of the night something we and our guest will never forget. Thank you for playing such a key role in making our night so magical! Your awesome! 
Trae/Taylor 5/18/19

 

My husband and I got married at the Westin Golf Resort and Spa this past January 2019. Zach was recommended to us by our wedding planner as we are from the states and didn't know any local vendors. Zach was so easy to work with and really brought our special day to life! He was a prompt with his communication! He was so accommodating and gave us an outline to choose what kind of songs we would like to be played and when they would be played to make sure we got our perfect playlists. Guests were able to request songs and he kept the whole group on the dance floor all night with an exciting and upbeat playlist and atmosphere! Thank you Zach for helping make our day so special!

Tori and Matt DeMaio 1/18/19

DJ Guana (Zach Schmidt) is what every DJ should strive to be. Responsive, adaptive, reliable, and easy going are just a few of the many positive characteristics I would use to define him. 

From the first communication we had with Zach he was kind, welcoming, and took time to video chat with us to reassure and answer all of the questions that we had, giving us a very relaxed and stress free experience. Since we were having an outdoor wedding on the beach, he reassured my concern for how it would sound outdoors. The sound and volume outdoors and indoor during the reception was executed with precision and sounded great. 

In my opinion a good DJ can make or break a wedding because you are relying on them for the ceremony and for the entire vibe of the dinner and reception. Music is such an intricate piece of a wedding and it is what creates the perfect atmosphere for the night. Every song that we requested for the ceremony was the accurate version and was transitioned flawlessly Zach was very accommodating to our guests and did a good job of kindly taking their suggestions and playing them in a very timely manner at the right moment. Zach does a great job of sensing the vibe of the crowd and getting a feel for what the guests like and plays off to that, something only an intuitive and skilled DJ can do! 

I highly recommend DJ Guana, out of all the DJ's that we considered in Costa Rica; none of them remotely came close to the level of professionalism and quality that Zach holds himself to. 5 out of 5 stars. 

Robinson Wedding 2/24/19

 

Another great night with fun clients!

Thank you so much for all the fun at our wedding! Everyone had such a great time. You really played great music that everyone was able to enjoy. Thanks for being a part of our big day!

Christine and Chipper Choquette 3/4/19

 

Planning a wedding several thousand miles away from home has its own set of challenges and concerned. One of my biggest worry was finding the right DJ. We wanted our wedding to be one big celebration and for everyone to dance all night long. Having to communicate all of our likes and dislikes through email and phone conversations was a big concern of mine. Would Zach have the current music that we listen to in the States? Would he be able to get a feel for what we were looking for without ever meeting in person? How much back and forth would it take to make sure things were how we wanted... 
I had nothing to worry about! From the very first time we spoke to Zach we knew that he was the DJ that we wanted to use. He was easy to work with, had all of the top songs from the State and completely understood what we were hoping for. He was easy to get a hold of when we had questions and was very quick to respond to any emails. 
The playlist that he came up with was perfect from start to finish. We have had so many people compliment us on the, not so traditional dinner music, and the dance music. There was never a time when there wasn’t people on the dance floor having a blast! All in all, Zach exceeded our expectations and I’m sure, will do the same for your wedding. 

Mr. and Mrs. Berg 5/3/19

 

 

Such a great night full of amazing energy and dancing with this group. Congrats again! 

Thank you again for an incredible evening. Review is below:

We had so much fun with DJ Zach! We coordinated with him from the United States via email and skype. He was incredibly responsive and accommodating to everything we wanted! Painless and exciting process to plan the reception. He had great suggestions on how to make the night flow smoothly. DJ Zach played dinner music, provided a microphone for speeches, played cake cutting music, and transitioned seamlessly for a night of dancing. I honestly have no idea where the time went because we had such a good time. DJ Zach was also able to accommodate some guest when they had requests towards the end of the night! It was an incredible experience and we would highly recommend DJ Zach for any night that you require a DJ! - 

Ryan and J’Nae 5/19/19

We'd like to thank you again for an incredible night! We'll never forget it!

Zach arrived to our wedding early to set up his equipment and he made sure the sound and the quality of the music was perfect. Plus, the song selections he had were right up our alley! Thank you Zach for making my wedding so memorable, it was a pleasure working with you.

Thanks,

Claudia & Irvin Pineda 11/17/18

 

A fun night Dj’ing for the Costa Rica International Academy - CRIAfundraiser ;

Costa Rica DJ, a.k.a. Zach Schmidt, is a true professional. He had an amazing playlist... somehow he knew just what to play and at just the right time. When it was time to boogie he kept the dance floor jumping! 

His equipment was top-tier (including lighting) and he was very accommodating with our need to make various announcements as well as call a live-auction. This was our second time booking him and it will not be the last. Highly recommended! 

Brian Bratton 12/8/18

My wife and I got married in Reserva Conchal in November 2018. We planned our wedding from abroad, and as such had to rely on recommendations for many of our vendors. From our first contact with Zach (DJ Iguana), he was very responsive, easy to work with, and extremely accommodating to all of our requests. We shared several playlists with Zach to give him a sense of what we were hoping to hear - both during our dinner and the dancing part of the night. He expertly took our requests and kept the mood throughout our entire party just as we had hoped for! During dinner and speeches the music was appropriate, but not sleepy, and throughout the night he kept the entire party going with high energy and had a great sense of what the crowd was looking for. Zach was extremely cheerful and accommodating to song requests, and overall maintained a truly awesome vibe the entire night. We would highly recommend DJ Iguana and would definitely bring him on for any future events! 

Bryan and Eliza 11/23/18

Such a great group that partied till 1am . Thanks so much for having me Dj the night and for your kind words!

Dj Zach exceeded our expectation on every front. He met with us prior to the wedding to align on music, flow of the event, and his expected level of engagement. We gave him an idea of vibe and he nailed it. He played the type of music we were hoping for and was able to keep the crowd dancing for far longer than we had anticipated. He accommodated all requests and interacted with the group at all of the right times. I hope we don't get remarried, but if so, we're calling Zach."

David and Audrey 11/18/18

"We were so fortunate to have found Zach to orchestrate the music and atmosphere for our party.  He was very detailed with asking the right questions and making sure he had the right music picked out for the party and guests of all ages.  He also came a day early to see the event location and had great input on where to set up for acoustics, light, and overall flow.  I would definitely use him again and recommend him to anyone in the area.  Feel free to contact us directly if you would like to ask specific questions or want more feedback.  Brian & Charlyn Grocott". 11/9/18

 

A great Review from the Mother of the Groom from my past wedding;

 

Not long after my son announced his engagement and the couple’s plans to wed in Costa Rica. . . 14 months away, I promised that I would cover the expenses, as my gift to them, AND that I would plan as much as I could. Having never been to Costa Rica, but knowing a lot of surfers who had, I began quizzing others and searching the internet. I found the Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort. Right way, after seeking information from the resort, I was contacted by the resort's incredible wedding planner, Eunice. She made recommendations for a photographer and a D.J.!!!! One of those D.J.s was D.J. Zach. I could not have made a better choice. I contacted Zach and he became communicative and maintained communication throughout a nearly year-long process. He remained patient as the bride and groom, with a lot of other things on their mind, were not quite as communicative as he. Zach hung in there and, after months of back and forth, he had his list of their music selections… a wide variety of selections from several genres, covering over six decades. . . . Think: from Frank Sinatra and Louis Armstrong to country music. No problem for Zach!

 

We arrived in Tamarindo on a rainy Wed. in October. Early on Thurs., Zach met with us to finalize the bride and groom’s selections. . . His patience came through, again, as they tweaked their selections and accepted his suggestions. On the wedding day, Zach seamlessly moved from venue to venue. . . the wedding site, the cocktail-hour site, and the reception site. He was ready for the weather, should the late afternoon rain have continued. . . it didn’t! Zach announced the bride and groom, their first dance, removal of the garter, cake cutting, throwing the bouquet, etc. like the PRO that he is.

 

Zach is a delightful young man, easy to work with, trustworthy, prompt, and any other glowing adjective that might come to your mind. I do not hesitate to highly recommend him to anyone in need of a D.J. for ANY special occasion. NANCY of VA Beach, VA 10/20/18

We have been to our fair share of weddings over the years and have pretty high standards given our love to dance. So choosing a DJ from afar can be a nerve-racking experience. However, we were thoroughly blown away not only by Zach’s energy but his enthusiasm throughout the planning process to the wedding reception. He made the entire process simple and set our minds at ease. Not only did our guests love him but he kept us dancing all night long. We seriously could have not asked for a better DJ!

Zach, thank you for making our wedding day flow so easily and truly making the night amazing, one we and our guests will never forget! We could not be more thankful and we would book you again in a heartbeat! Again, thank you for your amazing talent, humor, and professionalism!!!

Brandon & Veronica, Silver Spring, MD

Thank you again for being apart of making our day so memorable!

Veronica & Brandon 9/1/18

Zach was the perfect DJ! When my fiance and I arrived in Costa Rica, Zach wanted to meet up to get to know us. We immediately met up with him for coffee and hit it off. Out of all of our vendors, Zach was the only one who reached out to meet us before the wedding, which made him seem so much more personable. By the time our wedding came around, he already knew our vibe and what we wanted vs didn't want. We had given Zach a list of songs to play but also told him to use his judgment and play whatever he wanted, whenever he thought the timing was best. And he did exactly that. Once dinner was over, the entire wedding moved straight to the dance floor, and we DANCED the night away until the venue closed. I have had many people tell me that our wedding was the first wedding that they danced from start to finish, without a break. I have to give thanks to Zach for that! He knew how to keep the party going, which is exactly what we wanted. I know I may be biased, but it was definitely the best wedding ever! Thank you, Zach!
Rhiannon and Calvin 8/25/18

Zach! Thank you for being our awesome DJ FRIDAY night. I have not seen my friends dance like that EVER and I’ve known them for over 2 decades. You were so helpful with everything. We wish you luck on all of your buisness ventures and hope to run into you again. 

 

Love, 

Sylvia & Ray 8/17/18

Zach, 

From our first contact we appreciated how open and willing to work with not only our budget but our taste in all genres of music. We loved the “must have” playlist template you sent us- given that we were able to choose our favorite songs and make them part of our entire reception. 
We thank you for being so comprehensive with the surprise mariachis and that you were open to everyone’s song request throughout the party. You are very profesional and thanks for the videos and pics!!! 

Ariana&Camilo 8/8/18

Seriously, thank you for everything. You were amazing. It turned out that the crowd who ended up dancing was not at all the crowd who I thought would dance and you were able to easily accommodate that. We had gone so back and forth on if it was worth it to hire a DJ or not and hiring you was definitely one of the best decisions we made.

Thomas and Sarah 3/06/18

 

 

The music at our wedding was beyond perfect! Zach did a great job and played the perfect variety of music. We sent a short list of songs and from that, he easily came up with an amazing playlist. He played the perfect mix of rap, pop, and wedding classics to keep everyone entertained and dancing on the dance floor. He also took suggestions. We got several comments from friends that were impressed with the DJ. I would definitely recommended Zach to anyone looking for a Dj!! Thanks for making our wedding a blast! -Hannah Kate & Chase Cain 7/26/18

 

Thanks again! It was awesome! 

I don’t think there are enough words to express our gratitude and appreciation for how awesome Zach is! He was prompt, entertaining, fun, exciting, and really energetic! Not only did he play the best of the best songs ever, he allowed my family and friends to come behind the DJ stand and have some fun rocking out as well! Zach made our wedding one to remember and anyone who needs a DJ for their wedding should 100% hire him immediately! He will not disappoint! We keep re-living how wonderful our entire experience with Zach was from start to finish! He really takes the time to understand the couples he works with and incorporate his style to make it perfect! Thank you for everything, Zach! You are incredible!!!

-Molly & Austin Stanley

You were above and beyond the best and the kindest. There's rarely a person sitting down in any photo anyone took at our reception. Everyone danced the whole night and the room was filled with love. Our guests took the time to tell us how incredible our DJ was--that's a tall order when you have a room of people ranging anywhere from 5-70. Thanks for visiting us the day before so you could get to know us better. Clearly, you care about your clients, and you, in such a warm, humble way, are absolutely EXCELLENT. Your photos just made me cry. I am so happy! What a night. I loved the dancing and Thank you so much for those memories. My dad would have been overjoyed with the music and the fun. Everyone was included, kids and the retirees. :) Absolutely perfect.

 

Mr. and Mrs. Kairdolf  6/16/18

Having Zach as our DJ was great! Many guests complimented him and were impressed we had such a good DJ at a destination wedding. Zach was professional, friendly and really easy to work with from beginning to end. Our guests had a blast dancing at our wedding! Thanks Zach!

 

Best and thanks again!

 

Mr. and Mrs. Reed 5/26/18

 

We completely planned our wedding from California not knowing any of our vendors prior to getting there. We found DJ Zach via the internet going off the amazing reviews he had on his sight. From the very beginning he was prompt and professional, he was so helpful with pulling together our vision of having a party and not a traditional American wedding. DJ Zach also went above and beyond 2 weeks before the wedding when the wedding coordinators were unhelpful with timelines and helped us create a time line for the wedding that would coordinate with all the music we wanted. On our wedding day he kept the party going and knew exactly how to read the crowd and was the instrumental piece in having a party for our friends and family! He made our wedding day feel exactly how we wanted it! You will not be disappointed because not only is he a wonderful person he is professional and so fun. 

 

Ryan and Tiffany 5/5/18

 

 

 

Zach

 

Thank you for an amazing time at our wedding reception. Us and all of our guests couldn’t stop dancing the WHOLE night!  You played one great song after the next and you definitely understood the type of music we love! Everyone raved about how awesome the dj was the next day and I couldn’t have been happier with you!  

 

Another impressive thing about you is how great you communicate. You are so fast to respond to emails/texts and We truly appreciated it!  Thanks again for an amazing night and we would highly recommend you to anyone that wants to have an amazing dj at their wedding/event!  

 

Thanks again!!

 

Steph and Sam Bowie 4/28/18

Hi Zach!

 

I wanted to thank you again for making our night even better! All of our guests have continually told us what a fantastic time they had and enjoyed the music and atmosphere you brought with you!

 

You had everyone dancing for the whole night and not to mention Daniel and I appreciated the images you captured as well!

 

I highly recommend Zach to anyone and everyone getting married, or getting ready to party. If you want a fun and exciting atmosphere, Zach is you guy!

 

¡Pura Vida!

 

Shaira & Daniel

April 21, 2018

 

 

 

Thanks again for an incredible night! Our guests as well as Chelsea and I had the best time. You had everyone dancing all night and we also love the moments you captured on camera! I will highly recommend you as a DJ to anyone planning to have their wedding or any kind of party in Costa Rica. ¡Pura Vida!

 

Tina & Chelsea 4/14/18

Hi Dj Zach,

Kevin and I would love to take a moment and thank you for your amazing Dj services. We really appreciate that you took the time to get input on our music choices and whom our guests would be for input on music preferences. Our guests had an awesome time and it was fantastic to have you collaborate with my bridesmaid Tae for our Heavy D dance line which was icing on the cake!! Thank you for helping us in creating such a memorable night for us!!

-XX Ima and Kevin

Great intimate group in Reserva Conchal with Planner Heidy. Thanks again for using my Dj services and congrats!

I just wanted to say thank you again for the terrific job during our ceremony at the Westin on 10 March. You were super easy to work with and executed a great play-list. The music really set the mood and really energized us and our guests. It is always a little nerve wracking trying to plan a wedding from thousands of miles away, but I could not have been happier with your responsiveness and ability to translate our vision/theme into a spectacular play list. Thanks again and I would happily recommend you to any friends looking to get married or host an event in Costa Rica! 

Cheers!

Ashely Fagan 3/10/18 

 

 

DJ Zach was more than amazing! He was always quick to respond (I did not have international calling, so having him communicate with me via email was not a challenge for us!). He kept our family and friends dancing all night, and we would ONLY recommend him to anyone getting married in Costa Rica or throwing an event! Thank you for making our night so special Zach! Pura Vida!

Kelley Wedding 3/5/18

You were an awesome DJ that kept our wedding fun from the beginning to end. We thank you, and would recommend you to anyone that is in need if they come to Costa Rica. You were always very responsive, and easy to work with the whole time, even from Minnesota. It was a little eery not knowing what to expect when you come to a different country, but you made it all work with ease. Also killed it during the ceremony, dinner, speeches, dances, and whole party. Thank you again, and appreciate how awesome it was! All our guests couldn’t have been more impressed as well as Amanda and I! Thanks man, and best of luck to you! All the recommendations to you 100%! Thank you!

Best, 

Kyle Miller 2/16/18

"My wife Erin and I could not have been happier with Zach's services. We were nervous about setting up a DJ for our wedding to begin with, but having to choose one in a foreign country without any way of meeting him first made the task even more daunting. Zach was extremely easy to work with even though we were in the states and he in Costa Rica. He answered our emails promptly and was happy to answer whatever questions we had. He took the list of songs we provided him and played them perfectly to match what was going on during the reception. He provided the ambiance we sought for our dinner and later got family members out dancing. He also took a couple photos on his own which he happily shared with us."

 

1/2/18

Erin and Michael

Zach did a great job on the music for our wedding. Everything he played fit perfectly to the mood we wanted to be felt, and he listened explicitly to our desires on what we did and didn't want to be played. We would highly recommend him as a dj for any wedding and or party for future reference.

-Bentley & Tatiana Fachner

Thank you so much, CostaRica-DJ! You did an amazing job from the wedding ceremony all the way to the bitter dancing end @ Langosta Beach Club, Tamarindo. Music selection was on point and very professional. Could not have asked for a better DJ! 😃. Highly recommend! 👍

J & S Beaton 11/12/17

We hired Zach to be the DJ for my 50th birthday party at Casa de Luz. From our initial email exchange throughout the entire process he was responsive and incredibly easy to work with.  It’s a bit daunting to hire someone for an important event in another city much less another country but he was great.  He walked me through every detail, asked what I wanted played (as well as what I didn’t want played) and delivered on everything we discussed.  He is the “real deal” from the music to the lights to the microphone he had it all.  He even went along with the dress up theme of the evening.  What I appreciated the most is that he treated my birthday party for 23 with the same care and dedication you would expect for a wedding for several hundred.  He blended in and interacted with the entire group with incredible grace and was just an overall joy to work with.    I would not hesitate to hire him again or recommend him for any occasion.  Thank you Zach!

-C. Pope

Zach was amazing! We were nervous to hire a DJ we didn't know and in another country none the less. He was so quick to respond when we contacted him. He gave us all the details we needed for all of our wedding songs. (I didn't realize how many songs you actually pick for the whole process of a wedding!) He went above and beyond for us finding the music we requested! He was hilarious and fun while being our MC for our reception. Every time I emailed him with a question or concern he responded so quickly. 
Music is such a huge part of a party and he kept us rocking out the entire time!! Thank you Zach for being so sweet, kind, and professional with the whole process! You are absolutely wonderful and I highly recommend your service to anyone looking for a DJ in Costa Rica! 

Sincerely
Mr. and Mrs. Gavarrete 

 

 

Zach, thank you sooo much for being an amazing DJ at our wedding!! I would recommend you to absolutely everyone 😊 Here's my quick review to anyone who may be between choosing DJs: we didn't know Zach before hiring him, but we hired him after my mom went on a giant investigation into the best DJs in Costa Rica. After a military-grade search across the depths of the internet, my mom proudly presented Zach's contact information to me and my now-husband and assured us that nobody was better. Well, like many mothers tend to be, she was right. (Thank you Larisa Marsakova!) Zach was amazing from the first email we exchanged. He made music selection easy, always answered every email and text, and knew how to read the crowd at our wedding and play the perfect song at each moment. So if you're looking for an incredible and dependable DJ, you've found him!

 

Anna/Jorge 11/11/17

From dinner to dance party Zach didn't miss a BEAT! He was a great to work with, very professional, and easy going. He provided us with a music timeline to make it easy to set up our songs, and was able to read into our music taste to fill in the blanks perfectly. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ! From the start, the mood was set for a wonderful day, and when it was the right time he got the dance party started for an amazing time we'll remember for a lifetime. We are still getting compliments on our music choices and execution which we all owe to Zach!!! If you are getting married in Costa look no further! 

Tom & Sara Matteson

Zach ~

 

We couldn't have asked for a better deejay.  You were incredibly flexible in meeting up ahead of time to confirm you had all of the proper versions of the songs we wanted.  There was a big storm during our reception that knocked out the power and you went above and beyond by going home to retrieve your battery-powered speakers to keep the party going.  You did a great job with reading the crowd and interacting perfectly.  Please share this with anyone looking for a deejay in the Tamarindo area.  You were fantastic and we're eternally appreciative of the spectacular memories!!

 

Pura Vida,

Jad and Nicol Rinderknecht

 Zach, Thank you so much for everything!!! All of the photos you took are fabulous and you put on quite a dance party!!! Mike and I and all of our guests had a night we will NEVER forget!! Thank you for being a part of our special day.

Meghan O'Neill

 

 

Wow, wow, wow! Best wedding ever! We hired Zach to DJ our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception for our destination wedding at The Diria. We got his name from our wedding planner, and he came highly recommended by other's in Tamarindo as well! He responds quickly to emails, never had to wait even 24hrs for a response. He was professional, played to the crowd, honored requests, took tons of photos and posted them to Facebook (which is nice because we are waiting on wedding photos from the photographer), and he was just all around AMAZING! I cannot say enough about his excellent work! If you need a DJ for a party or wedding, call Zach! He is the best and we are so grateful for his awesome DJ skills! 

Jessica & Blaine Bergstresser 4/6/17

 

 

Another fun group and great review! 

"Zach far exceeded our expectations when it came to DJing at our wedding at pangas beach club. He made it so easy for us, communicating regularly, and even met up with us prior to the wedding, when we contacted him last minute. When we provided him with a list of songs we wanted, he was able to give us feedback, and his recommendations in order to get the crowd dancing :). He played requests from our guests and was really able to read the crowd throughout the night. We are so very lucky to have found him for our destination wedding. It wouldn't have been the same without his amazing talent. If you are looking for a DJ for your wedding, don't think twice and hire Zach now!! You won't be sorry. We can't thank you enough, Zach! Pura vida!"

Glower/Ruffa Wedding 6/10/17

 

Another fun group! 

DJ Zach was awesome! Our wedding reception and ceremony was everything we hoped for and more. He was very professional and personable. I would recommend him for anyone who wants their guest up on the dance floor the whole night! I loved how he gave us the opportunity to pick out songs we wanted played throughout the night. I give him 5 out of 5 stars. Definitely book him, you'll be glad you did!! 

- Mr. & Mrs. Mitchell Winston

 

Thanks so much Allison and Guillermo ,great Argie/Gringo Wedding!
We just wanted to thank you again for DJing the event, you kept the party going all night and we couldn't have asked for more! Here is our review for your page:

Zach was recommended to us by the hotel where we held the wedding. During the planning process he always made himself available, and responded to all of our questions and inquiries really fast and with pleasure even though we changed our songs about a million times! :)We met with him two days prior to the wedding to review all of the plans, and he was very organized with all of the songs for each part of the wedding (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception). Our wedding was bilingual so he was able to speak to the guests in both languages and made sure to have the songs flow so that all sides felt included. We also felt like he could read the crowd and knew when he should keep going with a certain vibe and when to transition to another song because people weren't feeling it as much. We definitely recommend DJ Zach and don't think our wedding would have been what it was without him!!

Thanks Zach!!

Guillermo

 

Its the Great Wedding Groups that keep me going! 

My husband Steve and I are from Canada and got married at the Langosta Beach Club in Tamarindo on January 31st 2017. Our wedding planner Maria recommended Zach to us. We were so pleased with Zach, from our multiple emails back and forth throughout the time of planning to an amazing Playlist that kept the crowd dancing. Music is a very big part of both my husband and my life, we really wanted the music to set the right tone for the night and please all ages. Zach took my taste and style into consideration to play the perfect music for both dinner and dancing! Thank you for making our perfect day complete with a rad party!

Tanya & Steve

 

Great groups make my Job fun and easy! 

Zach is undeniably the best choice for your wedding DJ! Zach was in constant communication prior to our wedding, asking if we needed any help with song selections and even sent us a few lists he had from other weddings. He offered to help with any requests or services we needed. This was the exact type of service that we were looking for and we definitely received superb service and attention. We had concerns about the changes our venue had to make with where things could be setup on the premises. Zach assured us to not be concerned and sent us pics of the setup from an event he worked at our venue the week prior. On our wedding day all of our family and guests had a blast on the dance floor and didn't want the night to end. He not only played the music, he came prepared with fans! As a bride in the hot Costa Rica weather, you'll definitely appreciate this!!! We would highly recommend Zach to anyone needing a DJ in Costa Rica!

Thanks Zach, Ashley & Mike McGrath 3/31/17 

 

One of the top reasons I'm in this line of work, to keep you smiling and dancing! 

 

Zach went above and beyond for our wedding weekend!! The communication from the start was exceptional. He would send me emails between the time we booked him up until our wedding just to check in and make sure we didn't need any help or have any questions about picking out our music. And then two weeks or so before, we realized we might need a mic and speaker for our rehearsal dinner. He was so so awesome about letting us rent that from him as well, helped us set it up and then picked it up when we were finished. Wedding day... Wow. We can't say enough. So many of our family and friends kept coming up to us saying how great the music was and how much fun and awesome our DJ was! The dance floor was packed the whole night and no one wanted it to end. I am so glad we went with Zach. Best DJ in Costa Rica for sure!!
-Jennifer and Layton Miller 
3/25/17

 

An awesome group that I had the pleasure of Dj'ing for in March ! 

We were lucky to have Zach DJ our wedding and reception at the Langosta Beach Club in March 2017. He did an amazing job making sure that the entire night was filled with the perfect music. He was very helpful as we created our wedding playlist, needed song suggestions, and coordinated last minute details. Our reception was a blast and the music was perfect. After the wedding, many of our guests told us that they really enjoyed the music, and even more importantly, that Zach was a really nice, friendly, and fun DJ. We appreciate what he did for us, and would highly recommend him to anyone needing a DJ in Costa Rica!

Thanks!
Evan & Brittney

 

This years been filled with great couples and awesome weddings. Here's another great review from a fun wedding .

Zach nailed the music for our wedding reception! We had given him a wide variety of music to play, from country, reggaeton, hip hop, and classic rock. He did not disappoint. Everyone at the party had a blast and there was music for all to enjoy. He did a wonderful job fulfilling requests made by the guests. He was a blast, took pictures and made sure everyone was having a good time! We would DEFINITELY recommend DJ Zach to entertain any party, he will not disappoint. 

Nick and Korine Barnes

 

Another great review from a great group!

We used Zach for our wedding in Langosta beach in February 2017. Our planner recommend him so I was nervous as I had no idea of what he played or any experience with him, however, all worries were soon put to rest. Zach was amazing! He kept the party going until we had to be shut down, people had so much fun they begged him to keep playing, the vibe was perfect at all times and even his pre-communication with me was amazing. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Zach was!!!
Amanda Pacult

 

A fun group , thanks for the kind words! 

DJ Zach was the best value we could have ever put into our wedding. He did music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. His communication with us throughout the planning process was smooth and easy. He was very responsive, and gave us great ideas for songs when we weren't sure what to choose. Our reception turned into an amazing non-stop dance party that we will never forget, and I felt like he was watching and paying attention to my husband and I's every move to make sure we were having a perfect experience. I highly recommend DJ Zach for any wedding or party, you will get so much more than you pay for. THANK YOU Zach for everything you did to make our night amazing!
Caitlin Schlegel 2/18/2017

 

 

We couldn't have asked for a better wedding DJ than Zach. To start he asked for a list of our likes and dislikes (I don't like disco) and was really responsive when we had questions. We used his services for our reception but he said he would be available if we needed him for the ceremony. We had an outdoor wedding and the sound was clear, unlike some sound systems where the bass drowns out the music. He was also really good at reading the crowd and knew what songs to play next to keep everyone dancing. My favorite party was during my bridesmaids' speech they started singing lyrics to the Golden Girls theme song which is my favorite TV show, Zach didn't know this was going to happen but found the theme song and played it right then. It was perfect! 

If you need more, trust me I can add to it 😊 Otherwise edit as you need. 

Thank you again for helping make our dream wedding a reality
Crystal & Matt Hall

 

We had Zach DJ at our wedding and he did an amazing job. He definitely knows what he’s doing. The best part of working with Zach was how great he was at communicating. We live in Minneapolis and Zach is in Costa Rica, but he couldn’t of been any better at getting back to us with questions or letting us know what he needed from us. I would recommend Zach for any event.
Nick Mueller

 

"My name is Jessica and Aaron is my husband. We booked Zach for our wedding and it was the best decision we made. Zach is an amazing DJ! He did great with the music, the lighting, the requests and everything else. We could not be happier with the outcome of his work. We would most definitely recommend him for any occasion. You would not regret it! Thank you so much Zach, for making our special day even better!"

ThanK you! 

Jessica Quesada

 

Always nice to get feedback from clients, especially when it's a great review, thanks Steph, fun wedding night with a great crew. 

"It's not unusual to be a little nervous about hiring a vendor for a destination wedding that you've never met. Lucky for us, Zach had a great website and we felt more confident in choosing him to be the DJ for our wedding. He was very attentive and responsive to emails in the months leading up to our wedding weekend. Our family and friends LOVE to dance, so it was super important to us to have a DJ that was going to keep the crowd rowdy. Zach exceeded all of our expectations!! Absolutely the BEST DJ! He followed our list that we gave him, but then he did include other songs that fit the flow of the wedding. Non-stop dancing from everyone. All of our guests raved about him the next day and week! It was the best night of our lives - we never wanted it to end! He was professional, but gave off the vibes like you were having a conversation with your friend. Zach - if you're ever in NYC let us know! Thank you so much!" 

Thanks!
Steph

 

Zach was our DJ for our wedding in November 2016. Since we are not from Costa Rica, it was hard knowing which DJ would be a good fit for our wedding. He was recommended to us by our hotel and after looking him up online, I knew he would be a good fit for us. We booked Zach about a year in advance, but he made sure to keep in contact with us and check up on how we were doing. Zach was the greatest to work with! He was very professional and easy going. We are very laid back and had no idea on which songs to choose for our reception. Zach guided us along and put together a great soundtrack to our amazing night! He was open to suggestions and took song requests as the night went on. He played everything we wanted to hear and kept the whole evening flowing effortlessly! Our whole wedding party was drenched in sweat from dancing all night and our guests complimented us all night on how well Zach did with the music. Definitely would recommend Zach to anyone looking for an awesome DJ!

Kelli and Michael Latimer

 

Thanks a lot Zach for that wonderful evening! It was fantastic and we had lots of fun! From the bottom of our hearts we thank you and we will contact you again in the future in order t have a fun and cool night again:-D
Thanks a lot one more time! We really appreciated it.

Indi Rendall 

 

 

"Zach is a great DJ!!! We used him for our wedding and would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ. We had guests ranging in age from 5 to 70+ and every age group was on the dance floor the whole night. Zach was very easy and wonderful to work with from the states. Thank you for doing such a great job!!"

Nadia & Mike

 

 

  Thanks so much Zach for making this an absolutely AMAZING night. You are the best DJ I've ever seen/heard at a wedding. Every song was on point - you played our chosen songs, but added a few of your own that were absolutely perfect. We loved (very much appreciated!!) your giant fan and your random funny comments on the mic.  💕 💕. Thanks again!! (ps: love the photos)

Angie Bailey

 

That night was SO MUCH FUN we are still living in it! Thank you so much!! 

Heyits Kisstina 

 

My husband and I got married at the beautiful Westin Playa Conchal on May 14, 2016. We are really happy our planner recommended Zach to be our DJ! Music was EXTREMELY important to us and this was one of the few areas we actually did a lot of research on. After all, music can make or break an event. Zach did not disappoint! He let us know approximately how many songs would be needed for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and dance. We trusted his expertise, so we gave him a much longer list than he requested to give him the flexibility to play what he felt our guests would enjoy. For the ceremony, we gave him YouTube links of the type of music we wanted. He made things so easy - he didn't have any questions or concerns with the music list and definitely delivered! He was also able to accommodate our guests' requests (mainly from my 8-year old godson lol). Zach went above and beyond and also served as an "emcee," and helped introduce the wedding party and various aspects of the program. Zach definitely exceeded our expectations! Our guests had a fantastic time! If music is important to you like it was to us, do not hesitate and book Zach!!! He is extremely professional, easy to communicate with, responds quickly, and an overall great guy! 

Thank you, Zach, for being a major contributor to our perfect wedding day! 

 

-Alex and Imee Gines

 

We were so happy with having Zach as our DJ for our Wedding in April, 2016 in Santa Teresa! Zach really did a great job of pleasing the crowd and playing what they wanted to hear after guests complained to me that the music I picked was "too progressive." I gave him full freedom to play his choices and my sister-in-law convinced him to stay for an extra hour because she didn't want to leave the dance floor, which Zach was willing to do! When we decided not to have live music at our rehearsal dinner due to budget constraints, Zach worked with us to travel to Santa Teresa a night earlier than planned and rent his speakers so that we could still have music. He was always very quick to respond to emails and brought a great, friendly energy to our wedding! Thanks Zach!

- Kelli & Trent Paulsen

 

Another review from some great clients I had at Langosta Beach Club on 4/9/16;

Zach was a great DJ for our wedding at Langosta Beach Club. Zach connected with us on numerous occasions before the wedding and made us feel welcome even before we arrived. The music was fantastic, guest’s requests were always accommodated and my only wish was that I could have danced even longer! 

 

Thanks,
Chris and Jenn!

My husband and I are from the United States, but we got married in Costa Rica along with 54 of our closest friends and family. Our wedding was phenomenal and credit goes to Zach for making it such! Many of our guests told us it was the best wedding they had ever been too. It was so much fun! Zach played all the right music, and it showed, because from the second the dance party started until Zach had to leave that night, the dance floor was packed! There were no lulls or dull moments the entire night. I am not good at knowing artists and songs, I just know if I like a song or not. Well that makes it difficult for a DJ to figure out what to play since he can't get inside my head, BUT with what little I was able to articulate to Zach, he pulled off a play list that couldn't have been more perfect! From the ceremony, to the dinner, to the special dances, and then on to the party, every section had the perfect genre and music that we wanted. He was also very respectful and detail orientated towards eliminating profanity as we had young children at our wedding. There wasn't a detail that Zach left out when it came to the music. I would highly recommended Zach to anyone in need of a DJ in Costa Rica!! Please do not think twice about hiring Zach; hands down, you will not be disappointed! Thank you Zach! We're grateful for everything you did!

 

Sincerely,

Breanna

 

We had a destination wedding at Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort on January 24th, 2016 with 72 guests. DJ Zach was recommended by the wedding coordinator at the hotel and we couldn't have been happier with his services. During the planning phase Zach was by far the most responsive of our vendors via email (almost always instantaneously), which was a huge relief when planning a wedding from afar. During our party, he played all songs we wanted and kept nearly all of our guests on the dance floor for a good portion of the night. Zach did a great job of choosing the songs, reading the crowd, and communicating with us throughout the night (and made sure our drunk uncle didn't hijack the evening). He handled everything in a highly professional manner and we could not recommend him more highly.

 

-Adam and Rachel

Wow. What a night! Zach was a cool and calm presence leading up to the reception, which put everyone at ease. When it came time to party even the old folks couldn't stay in their seats! He is the ideal addition to any wedding, especially when you're not as interested in a play by play of what is happening aka MC vs a true DJ."

 

-Bradley and Samantha Callow 2/15/2016 Costa Rica

 

 

 

We got married in Tamarindo, Costa Rica on March 2, 2013. After researching a few DJ’s we decided to go with Zach – and we’re sure glad we did! Zach really kept the party going. Of our 65 guests, I’m pretty sure 15 of us never left the dance floor. Aside from the specific songs – entrance, first dance, father daughter dance, etc. – he had us select a reasonable list of songs to play both during dinner and after for dancing. He then added in his own picks based on the mood of our guests, which was an asset.

 

One of my biggest concerns was making sure our guests had a good time. I had heard as long as you have alcohol and good music, everything should be fine. Well, we had plenty of alcohol and thanks to Zach, great music as well. As a DJ, Zach is very organized and professional, and his services are reasonably priced. Through our email exchanges and visits to Costa Rica, I also found Zach to be very personable and easy to work with. He gave us recommendations on restaurants, and other things to do with our guests – even putting us in contact with a few owners. This was above and beyond what we expected. Through these interactions, we felt like we got to know Zach, which made all the difference on our wedding night – it was like he was just another close friend celebrating with us.

 

I would highly recommend Zach as a DJ for a wedding or any other celebratory event.

 

-Shelley Oberlin - Shelley and Jeff Poffenbarger Wedding

 

 

 

DJ Guana recently was the DJ for our destination wedding at the Tamarindo Diria. For days after the wedding, our guests kept talking about how wonderful DJ Guana was at reading the crowd and playing the perfect selection of music. We had guests ranging from ages 12-85 and DJ Guana integrated music from multiple generations that everyone enjoyed. When you have a really good DJ, you don't really notice the songs changing, because it just keeps flowing and that's exactly how our wedding was! We were thoroughly impressed and beyond satisfied by the level of skill and professionalism of DJ Guana. We would highly recommend him!

 

-Tori & Cody Smith

 

 

 

Zach was referred to us by our wedding planner, who promised me he was fantastic - was she ever right!Zach was extremely professional, and always quick to respond. He did an amazing job figuring out what kind of music we were looking for; the songs played through dinner and dancing could not have been more perfect. He was a great sport with spur of the moment requests and had the dance floor full all night. I would hands down recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ!

 

-Catherine  Toronto, Canada

 

 

 

Thanks so much for doing an amazing job at our wedding on Feb 2 @ Cala Luna. All of the tunes were tight and everyone raved about what an amazing time they all had. Our only regret was that you weren't able to go longer! To everyone in the online world considering a DJ in CR, we would highly recommend DJ Guana. And he makes killer hot sauce too!

Cheers and pura vida,

 

Jamie + Karen

 

 

 

Hey Zach thanks so much for playing at our wedding. You did an amazing job and our friends had a blast!!!

 

-Stephanie Hawkins Wilson

 

 

 

Thank you DJ Guana for creating an amazing atmosphere for our wedding. Fabulous job of blending me and my husband's very different tastes in music

 

-Mandi McCarthy Fallas

 

 

 

Zach did an amazing job for our wedding in Feb 2012 at Bahia Del Sol. We provided suggestions for dinner and then gave him a few examples of songs for the dancing part of the evening and he put together a great play list. Our guests are still talking about what a great DJ we had. Thank you so much Zach for making our big day that much more memorable!

 

-Sarah Wueschinski

 

Nick and I got married at the Diria in Tamarindo back in April 2015 and Zach was our DJ for the evening. He was on point from the first time we connected to almost a year down the line when the actual Reception took place. During the Reception he made sure to follow the crowd and what I mean by that is, even though we provided a song list, he was able to read all of our guests to see whether he should really jump into a different genre of music or keep the party going. Our friends and family LOVE to dance and he definitely made that happen for hours. To the point where we even ended up being late for the garter toss and cake cutting! Not his fault... our fault for not being able to stop dancing. Anyway - he is great and we definitely recommend him!

 

Thanks, 

 

-Kayla Schumate

 

 

DJ Zach made our wedding experience an incredible one! All of our guests had a great time, and the music and pacing from Zach made the evening all the more memorable!

 

 

-Ryan Tibbs

 

 

Hola Zach ... hay muchas cosas de las que no sabe, ni se anima a predecir ... pero con toda seguridad si vuelvo a hacer una fiesta, si debo recomendar a alguien para hacer una fiesta o si me vuelvo a casar ... jajaja ... VOS VAS A SER EL DJ ... realmente la fiesta hubiera sido otra si vos no hubieras estado y te hubieras comprometido como lo hiciste ... GRACIAS, el recuerdo que tenemos de la fiesta es increíble y al primero que reconocemos como responsable de que haya salido tan bien ... (además de Maruja) ... es a tí ...

GRACIAS ZACH, SOS UN DJ INCREIBLE ... PERO GRACIAS POR HABER DISFRUTADO TANTO TRABAJAR CON TANTA SENSIBILIDAD EN MI BODA ... SE TE VEIA FELIZ .... ESPERO PRONTO VOLVER A CRUZARNOS ...

Si tenés algo grabado de lo que pasaste me encantaría tenerlo para recuerdo ... fuerte abrazo y con gusto te recomiendo a quien vos quieras ... bye!!!!

 

 

-Horacio Dobal

 

 

Zach,

You were instrumental in making our wedding absolutely PERFECT! Thank you so much for playing our requests and play lists! All of the guests commented on how terrific the music was and you were a fabulous DJ!!

You rock and we will recommend you to everyone!

 

 

-Greg & Lori Repella

 

 

We had our wedding at the Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort on Saturday, June 13th 2015. Zach Schmidt was the DJ for our reception. He was awesome! He was very accommodating to our choices of music and when we veered from the order of when we wanted to do things like our first dance and cut our cake. We changed our minds a few times that night and he made it happen easily and seamlessly. We love to dance and he kept the dance floor filled the whole night. He was able to judge the crowd and atmosphere and adjust the music according. The order and timing of each song was perfect. All our guests loved him. I would highly recommend Zach as a DJ for future receptions.

Sincerely,

 

-Ben Huynh